Start gate is fat with talent for Crankworx Rotorua.


The invites are out for the first Slopestyle event of the Crankworx World Tour, launching the quest to secure the Triple Crown of Slopestyle in its inaugural year.

The coveted Triple Crown has been created to recognize the perfect trifecta of athletic performance, a win at every round of the Crankworx Slopestyle Series. Only 20 top athletes, and three alternates, will have the opportunity to compete for the new title.



"The Triple Crown of Slopestyle isn't something we expect to see won every year. This is the pinnacle of where we think the sport can go. Is it possible to do? We don't know, but we're more than happy to provide the platform for the athletes to the reach new heights," says Darren Kinnaird, Crankworx World Tour general manager.

Crankworx Rotorua marks a turning point for gravity mountain biking. As the first round of the Crankworx World Tour, Rotorua launches the opening round for every one of the Crankworx Series titles and the race for two athletes to be named King or Queen of the Crankworx World Tour.

There are four new Crankworx Series titles: the Crankworx DH Championships, the Pump Track Challenge Series, Speed & Style World Championships and the Crankworx Slopestyle Championships.

Riders will collect points in each discipline at the three stops on the tour and the rider with the most points overall will win the series title. Those points will also count towards being named the King or Queen of the Crankworx World Tour. (More information:

The introduction of the World Tour concept, has created one of the best race rosters seen at a Crankworx Festival. Registration for the Crankworx Rotorua Downhill presented by iXS includes more top athletes than any other DH race in Crankworx history. Former World Champions Greg Minnar (RSA) and Gee Atherton (GBR), along with previous Kings of Crankworx Steve Smith (CAN) and Mick Hannah (AUS), are all confirmed for the race. The women will be out in full force as well, competing for the first time for equal podium prize money. Former World Champion Rachel Atherton will go head to head with reigning Queen of Crankworx Casey Brown and 2013 Queen of Crankworx Jill Kintner. And as the opening round of the Enduro World Series, the Giant Toa Enduro will see the world's best enduro racers and top downhillers sign on to one of the most competitive lineups in this young sport.

"These races are going to be a pivotal start to the year," says Takurua Mutu, Crankworx Rotorua director. "Kiwi fans have an opportunity to see the full spectrum of gravity mountain biking with the world's best professional riders all competing in New Zealand's mountain biking mecca of Rotorua."

The professional athletes currently invited or registered to compete at Crankworx Rotorua include:

Crankworx Rotorua Slopestyle (full invitation list) More information on Slopestyle athletes:

Antoine Bizet (FRA), Thomas Genon (BEL), Yannick Granieri (FRA), Tomas Lemoine (FRA), Tyler McCaul (USA), Kelly McGarry (NZL), Anthony Messere (CAN), Logan Peat (CAN), Sam Pilgrim (GBR), Louis Reboul (FRA), Sam Reynolds (GBR), Brett Rheeder (CAN), Nicholi Rogatkin (USA), Brandon Semenuk (CAN), Martin Soderstrom (SWE), Carson Storch (USA), Anton Thelander (SWE), Greg Watts (USA), Tomas Zejda (CZE), Cam Zink (USA) Alternates: Paul Genovese (CAN), Simon Pages (FRA), Mitch Chubey (CAN)

Official Oceania Whip-Off (Confirmed Riders) Sam Blenkinsop (NZL), George Brannigan (NZL), Loic Bruni (FRA), Brendan Fairclough (GBR), Louis Hamilton (NZL), Finn Iles (CAN-World Champion), Eliot Jackson (USA), Brook MacDonald (NZL), Bernard Kerr (GBR), Eddie Masters (NZL), Wyn Masters (NZL), Tyler McCaul USA, Sam Reynolds GBR, Kyle Strait USA, Cam Zink USA

Rotorua Pump Track Challenge presented by RockShox

Women: Anneke Beerten (NED), Anne Caroline Chausson (FRA), Tracey Hannah (AUS), Jill Kintner (USA)

Men: Sam Blenkinsop (NZL), Brendan Fairclough (GBR), Mick Hannah (AUS), Tomas Lemoine (FRA), Adrien Loron (FRA), Brook MacDonald (NZL), Kyle Strait (USA), Matt Walker (NZL), Joost Wichman (NED)

Full list of invited riders to be released shortly

Mons Royale Dual Speed and Style:

Ryan Howard (USA), Tomas Lemoine (FRA), Conor MacFarlane (NZL), Martin Soderstrom (SWE), Kyle Strait (USA), Greg Watts (USA), Cam Zink (USA)

Full list of invited riders to be released shortly

Crankworx Rotorua Downhill presented by iXS:

Women: Rachel Atherton (GBR), Tracey Hannah (AUS), Jill Kintner (USA), Casey Brown (CAN), Emilie Siegenthaler (SUI)

Men: Gee Atherton (GBR), Sam Blenkinsop (NZL), George Brannigan (NZL), Loic Bruni (FRA), Brendan Fairclough (GBR), Connor Fearon (AUS), Mick Hannah (AUS), Sam Hill (AUS), Brook MacDonald (NZL), Eddie Masters (NZL), Andrew Neethling (RSA), Greg Minnaar (RSA), Steve Smith (CAN)

Giant Toa Enduro:

Women: Tracy Moseley (GBR), Anne Caro Chausson (FRA), Cecile Ravanel (FRA), Anneke Beerten (NED), Rosara Joseph (NZL)

Men: Fabien Barel (FRA), Sam Blenkinsop (NZL), Troy Brosnan (AUS), Jerome Clementz (FRA), Jared Graves (AUS), Sam Hill (AUS), Justin Leov (NZL), Greg Minnaar (RSA), Wyn Masters (NZL), Damien Oton (FRA), Nicolas Vouilloz (FRA)