bsa Cape Epic 2024 (RSA) – Stage 2: New race leaders in the men's category


Stage 2 is with 97km distance the longest stage of the 2024 Absa Cape Epic.

The day began with a climb up the Wagon Trail into the Wizenberg Valley, which is famous for its relentlessly technical trails. Ouplaas, Wakkerstroon, Slagboom and Welgemeen all provided singletracks which demanded absolute focus. At 70km in the race The Eike climb required physical strength of the riders before ending the round course with an ascend down the Wagon Trail back to Saronsberg, Tulbagh.

The men’s race was full of drama with many teams suffering punctures and mechanicals. Buff Megamo’s Hans Becking (NED) and Wout Alleman (BEL) were the strongest team today and claimed their second consecutive stage win. They took over the yellow leaders jerseys of Nino Schurter (SUI) and Sebastian Fini (DEN) from team World Bicycle Relief who finished 02min 02sec behind. The German duo Georg Egger (GER) and Lukas Baum (GER) of ORBEA Leatt Speed Company crossed the finish line in third - their first podium finish in this year’s race.

In the women’s category current overall leaders Anne Terpstra (NED) and Nicole Koller (SUI) of GHOST Factory Racing took their third win in a row, extending their gap in the General Classification. Cannondale Factory Racing’s Mona Mitterwallner (AUT) and Candice Lill (RSA) finished 1min 13 seconds behind and Sofia Gomez Villafane (ARG) and Samara Sheppard (NZL) of team Toyota-Specialized-NinetyOne in third.



  1. Buff Megamo - 7-1 Hans BECKING (NED) & 7-2 Wout ALLEMAN (BEL) 4:05:22
  2. Cannondale Factory Racing - 62-1 Mona MITTERWALLNER (AUT) & 62-2 Candice LILL (RSA) 5:11:07 / +7
  3. Toyota-Specialized-NinetyOne - 69-1 Sofia GOMEZ VILLAFANE (ARG) & 69-2 Samara SHEPPARD (NZL) 5:11:25 / +25


  1. GHOST Factory Racing - 63-1 Anne TERPSTRA (NED) & 63-2 Nicole KOLLER (SUI) 5:11:00
  2. World Bicycle Relief - 2-1 Nino SCHURTER (SUI) & 2-2 Sebastian FINI (DEN) 4:07:24 / +2:02
  3. ORBEA Leatt Speed Company - 10-1 Georg EGGER (GER) & 10-2 Lukas BAUM (GER) 4:07:29 / +2:07